Fatherhood at its finest…kinda

I Blinked, How Did 6 Months Go By?

I heard the tales, read the stories, got the talk from friends, “they grow up so fast.”

I’m sorry, but that’s just wrong.  No one told me reality is more along the lines of  “they shoot up like a rocket!”

We’re six months in and I just can’t get over how quickly this whole baby thing is flying along.  Yes, there’s the cliche “I feel like he was born just yesterday,” but in some regards it’s so absolutely true!  I’ve never been this tired in my life, and for almost anyone that usually means time moves a a pace somewhere in between waiting in line at the DMV and waiting for the new season of Downton Abbey to air.  Yet, here we are 6 months in and I feel like I just blinked for a moment, and he sprang up into a little man who at any moment will look at me and say, “hey dad, can I get a little help here?”

Under Construction

Under Construction

During our routine 6 month visit to the pediatrician last week, the doctor was running down the list of things we should start thinking about.  “Have you started to baby proof yet,” she asked?  “Um, uhhh, what,” I think is what stumbled out of our mouths.  “Or have you dropped his crib yet?  It should be on the lowest setting now,” she told us.  ‘I’m sorry, you realize this is our 6 month appointment right?’ is what was flying through my mind. We’d been watching so many changes happen so fast, I was so naive about how much faster it was about to get.

So today, we have a dropped crib.  We’re safely ready for this guy to stand up and greet us when we walk in.  I envision it as a pleasant hello, something along the lines of “Hello my good father.  I’m ready to be relocated from this sleeping capsule and be fed now.  Come along.”  Though I’m told we shouldn’t ask for that.  Something about be careful what you wish for?

Low Rider

Low Rider

Nonetheless, today we are another day closer to being a year old, and if these second six months fly by as fast as the first, then a crib will be the least of our worries.  Though I swear I just closed my eyes for a second and I had the strangest dream, my son was growing up faster than a rocket.

Tagged as: , , , , ,

Categorised in: 2014, Baby, March, Parenting

2 Responses »

Trackbacks

  1. Starting Solids? Why It’s A Big Boost For Both Babies & Parents | Chad Becomes Dad
  2. Eating Solids - Messy & Memorable | Dads Who Diaper

Leave a Reply

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

RSS “Two New Dads” Podcast

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
